Pick your preferred language

English

Afrikaans

Successfully reported

Masinga

Self Catering

Your host

Take a look at the host’s track record.

4.9/5

Lynn Verified

Properties 1

Reviews 16

On LekkeSlaap 5 years

Review Summary

4.9 out of 5from 16 reviews for Masinga
Cleanliness
5.0/5
Service
4.7/5
Location
4.9/5
Safety
5.0/5
Value for money
4.8/5
Delayne G - Jul 2024
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Delayne G
With spouse/partner

Unique and very different to the norm - great overall 'experience'.

Our stay was really great. It was an unusual experience and ranks among our best spots to date. Unique!

Zininzi K - May 2024
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Zininzi K
With spouse/partner

Amazing.

10/10 Everything was so perfect. My partner and I enjoyed our stay at Masinga, it was so peaceful. Let me not even get to the food (so delicious), it was our perfect weekend.

Donnae M - May 2024
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
1/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Donnae M
With spouse/partner

A magical treat for all your senses.

This is an incredible breakaway from the real world. You enter the most carefully and quirkily decorated, laid out accommodation the moment you step out of your vehicle! Everything is just perfect. The glampvan is completely next level, from the beautiful decor details to the chandelier. Living areas are spacious and well set out with everything you could need and a bit more! The outside bath is truly an incredible experience, complete with candlelit candelabras. You are transported into another world at Masinga. The fridge is thoughtfully stocked and the "honesty Spaza" is a true delight. Nothing ordinary about this oasis. This is a must stay with a 10/10 from me. If you need to get away from it all, this is the perfect place for you.

Masinga 's response

Ah, what a star. Thank you for your generosity of spirit. We loved hosting you both.

Masinga
Nida J - Apr 2024
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nida J

Excellent stay. Peaceful, private and quaint.

Masinga is simply magical! It provided the most peaceful, quiet and private getaway. Everything was simply perfect and the add-on breakfast was phenomenal. Highly recommended! The kitchenette has a little spaza shop that works on an honesty-box system. Loved the cold drinks in old-school glass bottles and you can also buy extra wood and snacks.

Monique C - Jun 2023
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Monique C
With spouse/partner

Magical, hidden gem, amazing food, wonderful outside bath.

The caravan was so warm with an electric blanket and heater. The fire in the lounge kept that whole area so warm. Loved all the nicknacks around, the old radios. Loved the outside bath, something so original. All in all the stay was very well received and we loved it. Will definitely be back. Already told my friends and family about it. The food was stunning, and beautifully presented.

Esther M - Mar 2021
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Esther M
With spouse/partner

Relaxing and fun.

A place to relax and have fun, no electricity needed. Lots of activities right there. A good view, a fire crackling and a game or two and the relaxation start. Great host that definitely go the extra mile with attention to detail and little extras galore.

Renata W - Sep 2020
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Renata W
With spouse/partner

Warm, welcoming, attentive host in quirky retro accommodation. A hideaway set under a canopy of yellowwood trees.

Open living area with a lovely fireplace and a comfortable couch to curl up and read. Generous hosting and touches make for a welcoming relaxing experience. We stayed for three days and could relax whilst feeling away from it all whilst the urban buzz (restaurants shops and Shongweni market ) only a few kilometres away.

Heidi C - Feb 2020
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Heidi C
Individual traveler

It was incredibly special! Hidden away in a beautiful garden. You don't even know you are in a town! Beautiful setting. Loved it.

It is a real hidden away gem and I'm so grateful I found it! I'll definitely be back. A real special place. Different and beautiful. Comfortable and just perfect!

Bronwyn O - Feb 2020
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Bronwyn O

A little paradise.

From the time we arrived, we were taken in with a smile and a warmly welcome, as for the little gem they have in the garden, all I can say is wow! So warmly and homely, and perfect for a getaway weekend, I am so impressed and will definitely tell everyone about it, and most certainly be going back.

Masinga 's response

Hi Bronwyn. Thank you so much for the rave review. We loved hosting you and we hope to see you again. Lynn

Masinga
Stella Y - Jan 2020
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Stella Y
With spouse/partner

Wonderfully different spot!

Everything you need is there, clean, beautiful, tranquil!

Masinga 's response

Hi Stella,

Thank you so much for your review. I appreciate you taking the time.

We loved hosting you guys. Next time, stay longer and rest harder.

Regards,
Lynn

Masinga
Tamishka P - Jan 2020
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tamishka P
With spouse/partner

Amazing! Breathtaking! Peaceful.

Our stay at Masinga was truly surreal. The ambience is amazing. It is clean and for the adventurous hearts. You will never get bored at Masinga. The host is friendly and welcoming. She's always up for a quick chat. So friendly and warm.

Minet H - Apr 2019
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Minet H
With spouse/partner

Something different.

Thanks Lynn, we had a fabulous time at Masinga. We attended the Kearsney Rugby Festival and spent 3 nights at Masinga. It is quiet, private and very quaint. We listened to Rocky Horror, Suzy Quatro, Sound of Music on the vinyl record player while sipping red wine in front of the fireplace. Beautiful hiking trails close by.

Masinga 's response

Greetings campers:)

Minet - I must apologize for my tardiness and not replying to your rave review. I am brushing up on my techno-savvy which is how I missed your review in the first place. Just as well I am a better host than a techno-geek. Thank you again for the review.

We have added some tweaks and touches that I know you will love and we hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
LYNN

Masinga
Debbie R - Jan 2019
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Debbie R
With spouse/partner

Both my partner and I loved our stay there.

We loved the look of the place from the pictures and were not disappointed. The place was clean, beautiful and the attention to detail was amazing. Lynn was a friendly and gracious host. Thank you for sharing your space with us.

Masinga 's response

Hi Debbie,

I must apologize for my tardiness. I never replied to your review or indeed, thanked you for submitting a rave review. Absolutely my fault and lack of techno-savvy. I am now on it :). Thank you again.

We have added some extra tweaks to our beautiful Masinga and hope that you will return to enjoy again.

Kind regards,
Lynn

Masinga
Pooja P - Dec 2018
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Pooja P
With spouse/partner

A piece of heaven with a twist.

The online pictures do not compare to how amazing this place is. Masinga took relaxation to a new level. The little details is what I look for in a place and this was clearly important to Lynn too. Everything ready and welcoming on our arrival from a clean and well looked after place to amazing aromatic diffusers in the room. This was truly a memorable getaway indeed! Will definitely be visiting Masinga again!

Masinga 's response

Hi Pooja,

I apologize for my tardiness and lack of response to your review. Through no fault of TG, I didn't see this until today - I am working on upgrading my Techno skills:)

I hope you return to spend more time - we have added a few extra tweaks I am sure you will love.

Kind regards,
Lynn

Masinga
Raffaella K - Dec 2018
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Raffaella K
With spouse/partner

It was most certainly our most favourite getaway ever. We didn't realise how close paradise was until we found Masinga.

Thank you Lynn for sharing your piece of paradise with us. We loved every moment of our short stay at Masinga. The attention to detail was incredible. We were so comfortable and had everything we possibly needed. Everything was just perfect. Will most definitely be back! Thank you so much for the wonderful experience.

Masinga 's response

Rafaella, I must apologize. For some crazy reason I have not been able to track our reviews on Travelgound - no fault of theirs but I guess my lack of techno-savvy. If you get this after all this time - I want to thank you so much for your rave review.

We have added a few extras and tweaks to our beautiful spot and hope you guys will return soon.
Kind regards,
Lynn

Masinga
Tayla C - Nov 2018
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tayla C
With spouse/partner

Tranquil hideaway suited for anyone who wants to escape their everyday grind to spend time with themselves or their loved one.

What an amazing experience! You will only understand this once you've been there, but Masinga is not a place, it's a feeling: the feeling of escape and relaxation. We already vowed to go back there before we left. Everything was so neat and clean, yet homey and welcoming. The breakfast provided was perfect for two and the entertainment (arcade games and old school games like Pick Up Sticks and Jenga) was well suited for the theme and vibe that Lynn had aimed to create. She was an amazing host, interested in us, but not overbearing. We felt like we were chatting to an old friend.

Masinga 's response

I nearly cried.

Thank you for the review. You guys were so amazing to host. Loved having you. please come again.

Lynn

Masinga
From
R950
per night (sleeps 2)
From
From R950
per night (sleeps 2)
From
R950
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 2 people
  • No children allowed
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 18 Dovehouse Road, Gillitts, 3610, KwaZulu-Natal
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAA42185fc968c85a076484e943f945f84451072964d85389a63dc78f7008b18384029c9c1a2f930a38faed1303d1fa44a8129c?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 From R950 per night (sleeps 2) 16 5 1 5 18 Dovehouse Road Gillitts 3610 KwaZulu-Natal 021 201 8901 14:00-19:00 10:00 -29.775068168868 30.794358489898
World Travel Awards
Vote for us in the World Travel Awards!
Vote for us in the World Travel Awards!
vote
vote