LEKKE
PLEKKE
LEKKE
PRYSE
LEKKE
VEILIG
 by Driftwood 2 | LekkeSlaap
+37

Driftwood 2

7 resensies
Selfsorg

Opsomming van Resensie

4.8 uit 5van 7 resensies vir Driftwood 2
Netheid
5.0/5
Diens
4.4/5
Ligging
4.9/5
Veiligheid
5.0/5
Waarde vir geld
4.7/5
Lucy F - Sep 2019
Gemiddeld
Netheid
5/5
Diens
5/5
Ligging
5/5
Veiligheid
5/5
Waarde vir geld
5/5
Lucy F
Saam met vriende

Absolutely wonderful.

Had a lovely stay at Driftwood 2 and the hosts were lovely. I would recommend Driftwood 2 to anybody wishing to stay in the area.

Henriette S - Apr 2019
Gemiddeld
Netheid
5/5
Diens
5/5
Ligging
5/5
Veiligheid
5/5
Waarde vir geld
5/5
Henriette S
Enkelreisiger

Ongelooflike gasvryheid, vriendelikheid en hulpvaardigheid.

Hierdie blyplek was in alle opsigte nommerpas vir my. Ek moes naby VSA ambassade wees ( slegs 5 min ryafstand), veilige parkering op perseel van gastehuis. Ek kan hierdie gastehuis beslis aanbeveel.

Aidan S - Sep 2018
Gemiddeld
Netheid
5/5
Diens
1/5
Ligging
5/5
Veiligheid
5/5
Waarde vir geld
4/5
Aidan S

Unpleasant stay.

Lovely cottage, which is centrally located with easy access to multiple amenities. Cottage is spotless and appears quite upmarket. I was warmly welcomed and made to feel comfortable. Unfortunately all the niceties ended really soon. On the first morning of my stay I had received an offensive message from the hostess. She had "accused" me of having guests/visitors over (which is not allowed), and I say accused because the only person she had seen there, who left just after 1 am, was actually part of the reservation I made, which I will say should've been a clear indication that another person would be present. If this fact was not suiting her, this should've been cleared when the reservation was made and the extra person was paid for. I don't appreciate being treated this way, therefore I had then sought alternative accommodation for the second evening of my stay. I reluctantly returned to the venue on Sunday and spent as little time there as possible due to the unpleasant and distaste of the matter. To make matters worse, the bathroom I used had a crack in the toilet seat when I had arrived. However, upon checkout I used the toilet and the seat ended up broken, I had informed the hostess and offered to pay for it as a courtesy. I received an invoice of R450, which in retrospect seems ridiculous as this was already a cracked toilet seat. I have travelled many places in this world but have never encountered such unpleasant treatment.

Driftwood 2's terugvoer

Dear Aiden,

Thank you so much for your feedback, we appreciate it and believe everyone is entitled to their opinion and provide constructive criticism. I'm truly sorry that from upon your arrival, there was mixed communication of how many people were staying and weren't staying at Driftwood 2. We have never had this occur before.

When we receive a booking for a specific amount of people that is usually the confirmed booking, which allows us to prepare the cottage accordingly. Your booking was for 2 people however, you mentioned that you were going to be on your own for the 1st night, the 2nd night there may be 3 people and the last night you may stay out, as you weren't sure of your evening plans. I acknowledged this and said if there is a 3rd person staying on Saturday, you would need to advise us as this would be an additional cost. At this point, you asked me what a third person would cost and I advised it’s all on the TravelGround booking and you would need to look and book through the TravelGround platform for the additional person. You queried why it is not included in the cost for the whole cottage and I advised that all bookings are per person rates.

Taking into consideration the above conversation that you and I had, when we returned that evening to our property there was an additional car parked in our space which we have stated in our house rules that there is only 1 off street parking available for 1 vehicle. As it was the early hours of the morning, we locked up the property and went to sleep. We were not sure if this was a paid for guest or a visitor, but when the 2nd vehicle started up at 1 am we were left to believe it was a visitor.

We live in a suburban area and the vehicle promptly woke the entire property up and on leaving the property and left the security driveway gate open, which I closed on your behalf. This was concerning as with security always being an issue, no matter where one travels and stays. We have had to put strict rules in place for all website platforms that we don't allow for visitors, so we can keep track of who is coming in and out of our property. This is not only for our safety but also the safety of our guests. In this day and age, one has to be on top of it.

The following morning, when I sent you a message to find out what the plans were for you and the 2nd guest in the booking, it was at no point an accusation, I was trying to get a clearer picture of who would and who would not be staying and also provided you with a friendly message to remind you of the house rules. At this point, your response said it was the paid for guest that left at 1 am. I apologised if I had misunderstood and if you thought I was being rude. I also then assumed you accepted my apology after our discussion.

The following night that you weren't there, I didn't notice, as you had said you were coming and going and didn't know your own plans.

With regards to the toilet seat, we were not aware that the seat had a crack in it, we do wish you could have brought this to our attention sooner, we would have addressed the matter immediately. We spoke to our housekeeper and to her knowledge, there was no problem with the toilet seat, as she cleans thoroughly after each departure. Regarding the replacement of the broken toilet seat, we communicated clearly about it and when I said that I would try to get a replacement, you offered to pay for it. Please note we did not choose the most expensive replacement toilet seat but found one that was closest to it in similarity. We did not request the refundable security deposit from you as per our terms and conditions, as we have never had to do this to any of our guests. We sent you the original invoice from the company we purchased it from so that you could see that this was the replacement cost for the broken seat and you acknowledge this was no hesitancy.

I apologise again that there was a misconstrued message between us, my intention has never been to be an unapproachable host.

We hope with time you will relook at booking with Driftwood 2, so you can get the full use of what you expected from us.

Kind regards,
Lauren and Vas

Driftwood 2
Nigel T - Jun 2018
Gemiddeld
Netheid
5/5
Diens
5/5
Ligging
5/5
Veiligheid
5/5
Waarde vir geld
5/5
Nigel T
Saam met vriende

Lovely place, lovely people.

What can I say? Lauren and Vas were the perfect hosts and went well beyond the extra mile when we had a flat car battery, needed both a late check in and late check out. The apartment was perfect and spotless and we really enjoyed our 2 week stay. Can’t recommend Driftwood 2 highly enough. Thanks to you both.

Colleen M - Jun 2018
Gemiddeld
Netheid
5/5
Diens
5/5
Ligging
5/5
Veiligheid
5/5
Waarde vir geld
5/5
Colleen M

Pragtig, privaat. Sal definitief weer gebruik. Was mal daaroor.

Wat 'n wonderlike verrassing toe ek aankom, pragtige kothuis met privaat braai-area buite. Vriendelike, behulpsame eienaars. Sal definitief terugkeer.

Dié resensie is vertaal,kliek hierom die oorspronklike weergawe te sien.

Beautiful, private. Definitely will use again. Loved it.

What a wonderful surprise when I arrived, beautifully appointed cottage with private braai area outside. Friendly, helpful owners. Will definitely return.

Jy lees die oorspronklike resensie,kliek hierom die vertaalde weergawe te sien.

Driftwood 2's terugvoer

Dear Colleen,

Thank you so much for the lovely review, I'm glad you enjoyed your short stay at our cottage. It was lovely meeting you and your daughter.

Hope to hear from you in the future.

Driftwood 2
Deon L - Okt 2017
Gemiddeld
Netheid
5/5
Diens
5/5
Ligging
5/5
Veiligheid
5/5
Waarde vir geld
5/5
Deon L
Enkelreisiger

Sal beslis weer daar tuisgaan.

Dit is al plek waar ek sal tuisgaan in daardie omgewing!

Driftwood 2's terugvoer

Dear Deon,

Thank you so much for such a lovely review, it was lovely meeting you and your son. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Driftwood 2
Marisa H - Sep 2017
Gemiddeld
Netheid
5/5
Diens
5/5
Ligging
4/5
Veiligheid
5/5
Waarde vir geld
4/5
Marisa H
Gesin met klein kinders

Smaakvolle, gerieflike, netjiese en vriendelike akkommodasie.

Vriendelike ontvangs, baie privaatheid, pragtige plek en mense.

Driftwood 2's terugvoer

Hi Marisa,

Thank you for choosing Driftwood 2 for your short stay in Cape Town. It was so nice to meet you and your family and very sure that we will pay you a visit in Victoria West one day soon . It was an absolute pleasure having you and your children. Thank you for the lovely review on our cottage we really appreciate it.

Regards,
Lauren, Vas, Christian and Alexis

Driftwood 2
Vanaf R1 170
per nag (vir 4 persone)
Vanaf R1 170
per nag (vir 4 persone)
Vanaf R1 170
per nag (vir 4 persone)
Maak 'n Bespreking
  • Kapasiteit: 4 persone
  • Inkloktyd: 14:00 tot 17:00
    Uitkloktyd: 10:00
  • Adres: Moorland-singel 2, Tokai, 7945, Wes-Kaap
  • Alle ouderdomme is welkom
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDg3YjgyMjRjLTRhOTUtNDE5My1iNTEyLWQzYjg0OWJiYmI1OA?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format Vanaf R1 170  per nag (vir 4 persone) 7 5 1 5 2 Moorland Crescent Tokai 7945 Wes-Kaap 086 999 0018 14:00-17:00 10:00 -34.059862214696 18.450241195107
KRY FANTASTIESE SPESIALE AANBIEDINGS!
KRY FANTASTIESE SPESIALE AANBIEDINGS!